He’s A Friend

I like the quietness of the night. I like being alone in the darkness of the night. But I don’t feel lonely.

I have my thoughts. I’m in a completely different place. No one has any expectations of me.

When I make a mistake, it’s okay. I feel I matter. I’m unsure of my future but that’s okay. I can feel every breath I take. I can be as weird as I can. I can cry. I can laugh. I can fantasize the craziest fantasies and be happy.

It’s just me. I feel good about myself. I’m not ashamed of who I am.

Everything is okay. I’m fine.

In many ways the dark is a friend of mine. He keeps me company. He doesn’t speak. He doesn’t judge. He just stays with me and listens and for that I’m grateful.

2 thoughts on “He’s A Friend

Leave a Reply

